"Following Love" the album

An elegant and sparkling jazz.

From Joey Starr to Michy Green via Hubert-Felix Thiéfaine, Faby Médina navigates between music, sings alongside many French or international artists and is nourished by all these encounters.

First a chorister, then a soloist, today an author, composer and performer, the female voice of Mr. Claude Bolling's Big Band for 15 years, takes off. Faby dares to compose between swing and be-bop by adding a pinch of pop in the arrangements, a touch of soul in the voice and sometimes a ray of sunshine in the rhythms that speak to us of his roots. Through his texts, Faby tells us about the intoxication of his new encounters, of those that impact us and change everything, the void left by a loved one or the joy of a birth. Moments of life crossed with poetry. Originals, therefore, but also covers of great standards such as Someone to watch over me by George Gershwin, Early autumn by Woody Herman and a nod to pop with Blackbird by the Beatles composed in homage to the fight of black Americans for their rights. civic.

Between sweetness and intensity, with a refined voice, Faby writes his own story with “Following Love” a very personal first album, a new flavor for vocal jazz.

"Following Love" the album

MizikOpéyi, The Kréyol big band

Created and directed in 2006 by Tony Chasseur (singer and conductor) and Thierry Vaton (piano, musical direction), MizikOpéyi churns Creole jazz, a mix of traditional West Indian rhythms and Afro-Caribbean melodies on jazz arrangements. Endowed with seventeen musicians, the Creole Big Band sails under the winds of twelve brass instruments, in the great tradition of the big bands of New Orleans. Already four records to the credit of this island MizikOpéyi, including De Racines Et D'Influences (2008) awarded by the Sacem.

"Following Love" the album

Claude Bolling & Friends

"With Claude Bolling & Friends, the master of the Big Band offers classical jazz in reduced formation. Bollington's writing skills combined with the brilliance of his guest instrumentalists allow a refined approach to a music they have excelled in playing for over 20 years. of twenty five years in big band.

"A Claude Bolling pianist and a lovingly sophisticated feeling of generosity which gives this album the status of an ambassador of the ever-current liveliness of classical jazz"

Patrick Fremeaux

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Tumblr - White Circle
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc
  • YouTube - Cercle blanc
  • SoundCloud - Cercle blanc
  • LinkedIn - White Circle

"Following Love" 

Un jazz élégant et pétillant.

 

   De Joey Starr à Michy Green en passant par Hubert-Felix Thiéfaine, Faby Médina navigue entre les musiques, chante aux côtés de beaucoup d’artistes français ou internationaux et se nourrit de toutes ces rencontres.

D’abord choriste, puis soliste, aujourd’hui auteure, compositrice et interprète, celle qui est la voix féminine du Big Band de Monsieur Claude Bolling depuis 15 ans, prend son envol. Faby ose la composition entre swing et be-bop en y ajoutant une pincée de pop dans les arrangements, une pointe de soul dans la voix et parfois un rayon de soleil dans les rythmes qui nous parlent de ses racines. A travers ses textes, Faby nous raconte l’ivresse de ses nouvelles rencontres, de celles qui nous impactent et changent tout, le vide laissé par un être cher ou la joie d’une naissance. Des moments de vie traversés avec poésie. Des originaux donc mais aussi des reprises de grands standards tels que Someone to watch over me de George Gershwin, Early autumn de Woody Herman et un clin d’œil à la pop avec Blackbird des Beatles composé en hommage au combat des noirs américains pour leurs droits civiques.

   Entre douceur et intensité, d’une voix raffinée, Faby écrit  sa propre histoire avec « Following Love »  un premier album très personnel, une nouvelle saveur pour le jazz vocal.

"MizikOpéyi"

MizikOpéyi, Le big band Kréyol

Créé et dirigé dès 2006 par Tony Chasseur (chanteur et chef d’orchestre) et Thierry Vaton (piano, direction musicale), MizikOpéyi baratte le jazz créole, un mélange de rythmes traditionnels antillais et de mélodies afro caribéennes sur des arrangements de jazz. Copieusement doté de dix sept musiciens, le Créole Big Band vogue sous les vents de douze cuivres, dans la grande tradition des big bands de la Nouvelle-Orléans. Déjà quatre disques à l’actif de ce MizikOpéyi insulaire, dont De Racines Et D’Influences (2008) récompensé par la Sacem.. 

"Claude Bolling and Friends"

Hommage au swing!

 

"Avec Claude Bolling & Friends, le maître du Big Band offre un jazz classique en formation réduite. Les talents d'écriture de Bolling sont conjoints au brio de ses instrumentistes invités permettent une approche épurée d'une musique qu'ils excellent à jouer depuis plus de vingt cinq ans en big band.

 

"Un Claude Bolling pianiste et une sensation de générosité amoureusement sophistiquée qui donne à cet album un statut d'ambassadeur de la vivacité toujours actuelle du jazz classique"

Patrick Frémeaux

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Tumblr - White Circle
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc
  • YouTube - Cercle blanc
  • SoundCloud - Cercle blanc
  • LinkedIn - White Circle